From the Studio of Monica Gaylor, 5-21-16

Welcome to My Studio

This is How I Meditate – Often

It is wonderfully relaxing (most days).

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyj

I am beginning a new type of post called the “Studio Update.”  I have been working hard to get an Etsy business off the ground – Monica’s Gaylor-Y.  Please stop by.  I want this blog to represent all of the parts – strange, I mean exotic, as they may be – of me and my life, so now it includes the art.  The other types of posts (Zen Meditations, minimalism, sci-fi geekery, random musings, etc.) will continue, of course.  Just adding one more to the mix.  🙂

So, here it is…

“Roads.  Where we’re going we don’t need roads.”

I often feel like Dr. Emmett Brown in the studio…

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copygAn overview of the right side of my studio.  This used to be where my bedroom was, but now the whole back of my house is studio space (post Snowball.)

Sorry, I did not clean.  This is a picture of me prepping to work on the pieces seen on the floor and walls.  I work on many pieces at the same time.

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyh

This is the left side of the studio.

I choose this room / side of the house because it gets great northern light.  That’s what one wants for the doing of art.

I like patterned carpets.  In case you were wondering.  They are like paintings for the floor.

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyb

 

“Trump Fish Sushi” is from a strange dream that I had about the Donald.  We were planning a wedding shower?? and he would not share the sushi with me.  On the menu it was called Trump Fish Sushi.  ??  It is on burlap.  I wrote a post about painting on burlap here.

Just getting started.  Long ways to go on this painting.

Disclaimer:  Not a Trump supporter.

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copye

“I Hate Oligarchs” is aptly named.  Feel the Bern Oli’s.  Feel the Bern.

Long ways to go on this one as well.  I think it will have layers of graffiti on it.  Something about the French Revolution perhaps?

The one on the right – I just don’t know where it is going…

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyf Might be done with the big one?  Not sure.  I keep thinking about adding words or musings?

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyc

 

 

 

 

 

Both are from my Wabi Sabi Zen Circle series.  See Etsy shop for more in the series.

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyi

Started playing with these last night.  Went to bed and started looking at art.  Then just had to get up and do art in the middle of the night.

Too much stress last week.  I have decided that the whole weekend will be dedicated to this kind of moving meditation.

 

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copyd

This is the third time I have tried to paint this canvas…

 

 

 

Monica Gaylor Studio Pics from 5-21-16 copya

Here is where I left off for lunch and to write this post.

I do not usually use that many brushes.  I spilled the whole red cup of brushes in the black paint.  Things happen.  Embrace the chaos.

 

 

 

 

For a look at the living quarters part of my house you may click here.  There are many other “in-process” paintings to see.

And I will be keeping a running log of my paintings.  Those will eventually be put on the Art and Studio tab / page with a link.  Sorry it is under construction.  Much to do on this summer break…

Do you want to do something artistic?  See Cultivating Your Creativity.

Other things on the weekends to do list:

  1. Paint – check
  2. Grocery Shopping
  3. Laundry
  4. Shave Legs
  5. Laugh

Items are not necessarily listed in order of importance.

Desperately need humor. …  Have a nice weekend.  Moe

 

Leave a Reply

