Zen Meditation: Anxiety

zen meditation anxiety

“Anxiety is a thin stream of fear trickling through the mind. If encouraged, it cuts a channel into which all other thoughts are drained.” ~Arthur Somers Roche

“People become attached to their burdens sometimes more than the burdens are attached to them.” ~George Bernard Shaw

“Anxiety is loves’s greatest killer. It makes others feel as you might when a drowning man holds on to you. You want to save him, but you know he will strangle you with his panic.” ~Anais Nin

Meditation Assignment:

  1. Grab pillow.
  2. Sit or lay.
  3. Relax.
  4. Regulate breathing.
  5. Focus:  If we remember that our need to solve the problem is the problem then we can move forward toward living with the problem.  Let it go of the expectations and the outcome… what would that look like?  How would you feel differently if your focus changed to living with the problem instead of …
  6. Guided Exercise:  In the past, I have  liked the exercise where I envision myself writing my issues on a piece of paper.  I then crumple the paper into a ball and throw it behind me – thus ridding myself of the issue.  It has worked well for me in the past.  Lately, my issues seem bigger than a small piece of paper can handle and thus I have been using a large weight with a lid.  I stand at the edge of a boat, in the middle of the ocean, loading my issues into the weights open cavity.  I close the lid and push with all my might.  My troubles sink to the bottom of the ocean, disappearing into the dark.  I linger for a few moments relishing the lightness of my being.  I saunter to the helm and sail into the sunset…

Post by Monica Gaylor.

Leave a Reply

