There’s an emergency going on. It’s still going on. It’s still an emergency.

Post written by Monica Gaylor.

(Special note: This is a sci-fi geek alert.  I repeat, this is a sci-fi geek alert!)

In honor of my new blog layout.

And so, it begins…

“Emergency.  Emergency.  There’s an emergency going on.  It’s still going on.  It’s still an emergency.  This is an emergency announcement.” ~~ Holly (ship’s computer), Red Dwarf, “Confidence and Paranoia”

There is a story here; I am certain of it.

I traveled a long, long way to look into the little square piece of glass.  I risked life and limb flying from one galaxy to the next for the opportunity to gleam a sliver of truth for myself and about myself.  And now I am stuck in space with no way home and no real answers, only more questions…

From a galaxy far, far away, skipping through Wonderland, sliding down wormholes, and speeding on the intergalactic highway, here is (the snippets of and through the magic of non-linear yarn-telling) my story:

“I’ll make my report as if I told a story, for I was taught as a child on my homeworld that Truth is a matter of the imagination.” ~~ Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness

“The story so far:  In the beginning the Universe was created.  This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.” ~~ Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

“Not far below you is a large horizontal plane which proves beneficial in maximizing the exploitation of gravity.” ~~ Space Quest 1: The Sarien Encounter

“With the first link, the chain is forged.  The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably.” ~~ Star Trek

styx ferry“Path, follow path.  Gate, open gate, through gate, close gate.  Last ferry leaves at six o’clock, so run run run.” ~~ Wargames

“Because today we live in a society in which spurious realities are manufactured by the media, by governments, by big corporations, by religious groups, political groups… So I ask, … what is real?  Because unceasingly we are bombarded with pseudo-realities manufactured by very sophisticated people using very sophisticated electronic mechanisms.  I do not distrust their motives; I distrust their power.  They have a lot of it.  And it is an astonishing power: that of creating whole universes, universes of the mind.” ~~ Philip K. Dick

“He who controls the spice controls the Universe.”  ~~ Frank Herbert, Dune

“We walk in dark places no others will enter.  We stand on the bridge and no one may pass.  We live for the One.  We die for the One.” ~~ J. Michael Straczynski, Babylon 5

“Reality is shaped by the forces that destroy it.” ~~ D. Harlan Wilson, Dr. Identity

“Kryten personal blackbox recording.  Time: unknown.  Location: unknown.  Cause of accident: unknown.  Should someone find this recording, perhaps it will shed light as to what happened here.  My short-term memory has been erased.  This I ascribe to the proximity of the magnetic coils from Starbug’s rear engine.  Secondly, due to the proximity of the magnetic coils, my short-term memory appears to have been erased.  This, combined with the erasure of my short-term memory, has left me a little disoriented.” ~~ Kryten, Red Dwarf, “Terrorform”

“There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.  There is another theory which states that this has already happened.” ~~ Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

“Without change something sleeps inside us and seldom awakens. The sleeper must awaken.”  ~~ Frank Herbert, Dune

“A rite of passage that doesn’t involve some danger is too much a gift to create confidence.” ~~ Marge Piercy, Woman on the Edge of Time

“These aren’t the droids you’re looking for.” ~~ Star Wars

“For as long as I can remember, I’ve been searching for something, some reason why we’re here.  What are we doing here?  Who are we?  If this is a chance to find out even just a little part of that answer… I don’t know, I think it’s worth a human life.  Don’t you?” ~~ Contact

“Tests are a gift.  And great tests are a great gift.  To fail the test is a misfortune.  But to refuse the test is to refuse the gift, and something worse, more irrevocable, than misfortune.” ~~ Lois McMaster Bujold, Shards of Honor

“I am fearful when I see people substituting fear for reason.” ~~ The Day the Earth Stood Still

“Roads?  Where we’re going, we don’t need roads.” ~~ Back to the Future

“Come with me if you want to live.” ~~ The Terminator

“Bypasses are devices that allow some people to dash from point A to point B very fast while other people dash from point B to point A very fast.  People living at point C, being a point directly in between, are often given to wonder what’s so great about point A that so many people from point B are so keen to get there, and what’s so great about point B that so many people from point A are so keen to get there.  They often wish that people would just once and for all work out where the hell they wanted to be.” ~~ Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

“Once you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” ~~ Star Trek

“There were races in the galaxy, he thought, who could reach a quick and right decision on almost any question, cutting straight across all the tangled lines of thought, guided by rules of logic that were more specific than anything the human race might have.  That would be good, of course, in the sense that it made the decision possible, but in arriving at decision would it not tend to minimize, perhaps ignore entirely, some of those very facets of the situation that might mean more to the human race than the decision would itself? ~~ Clifford D. Simak, Way Station

“We are dreamers, shapers, singers, and makers.” ~~ Babylon 5

“Make it so.” ~~ Star Trek: The Next Generation

“So say we all.” ~~ Battlestar Gallactica

The woman I am looking at is me, but not me.  She seems different – more… more.  She appears to be at peace and standing in her own truth.  How did she get that way?  I open my mouth to speak, but she speaks first.

“I got the better end of the deal.  I only lent you my body.  You lent me your dream.” ~~ Andrew Niccol, Gattaca

Leave a Reply

